The Astrology Basics: A Helpful Guide on the Different Zodiac Signs

By admin / March 23, 2020

There have been long time misconceptions that astrology is not as useful and accurate as some practitioners make it seem. However, in the past couple of years (and mostly thanks to the internet), people have found a new appreciation for astrology.

Some folks have moved beyond just checking their horoscopes to discovering their entire natal charts. But before you get to the point, there are a few things about the zodiac signs that can help to further your understanding.

Check out this quick guide on astrology basics to teach you about all the different zodiac signs.

What is Astrology?

Astrology is a belief system that is rooted in studying how celestial bodies (planets, asteroids, stars) align to influence certain factors of human life and existence. Some people claim it as pseudoscience but others have dedicated practices devoted to bringing the power of astrological studies to the light.

In general, the usage of astrology has been misinterpreted for centuries. It’s a great tool to identify personality, collective shifts and other circumstances. One of the first things about understanding astrology is to learn about the zodiac signs, as they are one of the astrology basics.

The more you understand these constructs, the easier it’ll be to apply astrological concepts to your life.

What are Zodiac Signs?

Zodiacs are the astrological signs that derive from actual constellations. They are archetypal energy patterns that are believed to help to decorate people via their personality traits and behaviors.

There are 12 zodiac signs that start and end on different dates throughout the astrological year (which begins at the first sign). Sometimes people are born on the cusp, which means they’re at the cutoff of where a previous sign ends. It’s important to learn about each of the signs and the details on who they are and what they symbolize.

Signs, Elements & Modes

In astrology, the signs are broken up in three modes (cardinal, mutable, fixed) and four elements (earth, air, fire, water). Without getting too deep into these concepts, we can just classify them as identifiers of how a sign may ‘act’.

You’re probably already familiar with the physical aspects of the elements but may not know what they symbolize. Here are some keywords of what each of the elements signifies:

  • Earth – physical, stability, material items and gain, hard work/labor
  • Air – communication, thoughts, knowledge, decision-making
  • Fire – energy, vitality, passion, enthusiasm
  • Water– emotions, feelings, nurture, psychic abilities

The important thing to understand is that everything is energy and these indicators give specific characteristics to each energy. Here are the breakdowns of the mode types:

  • Cardinal Energy of “the starter”- energetic and dynamic
  • Mutable Energy of “the pacer”- persistent and stable
  • Fixed Energy of “the adapter”- flexible and adaptable

Once you’ve figured how each of these “templates” work, you’ll start to see how pieces of astrology basics come together like one big mystical puzzle.

1. Aries

(March 20- April 19) Fire- Cardinal

Aries is the youngest (and typically most immature) sign. The firey sign is known to be a self-starting machine. They are playful, enthusiastic and always up for a challenge. Moods don’t typically last long with Aries but when tempers flare up, you definitely feel it.

2. Taurus

(April 20- May 20) Earth- Fixed

If you’re looking for a steadfast sign that’s rooted in stability then Taurus is it. The motto for this sign would probably be “slow and steady wins the race”. Taureans are typically dependable foodies that love a bit of luxury and have a stubborn side.

3. Gemini

(May 21- June 20) Air- Mutable

Geminis are the fast-talking salesmen that tend to know everything about everything (and everyone). They love learning about different topics and are pros at making friends. Gemini is the sign of mental flexibility, which you easily see through their wit and cleverness.

4. Cancer

(June 21- July 22) Water- Cardinal

Cancer is the watery sign that reminds of the importance and comfort of home and family. If you know a cancer, you might think that they’re moody and emotional. Yet you absolutely can’t deny that they’re nurturing and receptive.

5. Leo

(July 23- August 22) Fire- Fixed

Leo is signified by the ‘Leo’ constellation and for good reason. Leos are brave and love to be the start of the show. Sometimes the energy can be a little self-serving and selfish but they are really warm and big-hearted deep inside─ just like the lion.

6. Virgo

(August 23- September 22) Earth- Mutable

Virgo is detailed oriented and thorough. This earth sign is the greatest multitasker and a very helpful source. Sometimes they can be nit-picky but it’s because of their gift of paying pristine attention to things.

7. Libra

(September 23- October 22) Air- Cardinal

Libra is an aesthetically driven energy that loves ‘love’ and harnessing the power of relationships (mostly one-to-one). This energy needs to find balance but can be indecisive sometimes. Libras are typically friendly and easy-going.

8. Scorpio

(October 23- November 21) Water- Fixed

Scorpio is a powerful water sign, rooted in mystery and determination. Double-crossing them could end up in longterm revenge. This sign is deeply feeling and very investigative.

9. Sagitarrius

(November 22- December 21) Fire- Mutable

Sagitarrius is the optimism world-traveler that loves to see the larger picture at hand. They can be philosophical and inspiring to others but sometimes too sporadic to keep up with. Sagitarrius loves gaining knowledge through culture and exploration.

10. Capricorn

(December 22- January 19) Earth- Cardinal

Capricorn is the sign of hard work, business and wealth. If there’s anyone that knows what it’s like to climb your way to the top, it’s the goat (literally). Capricorn may often be seen as cold but they are patient and reliable.

11. Aquarius

(January 20- February 18) Air- Fixed

Aquarius is an air sign that often gets misclassified because the actual constellation is the water-bearer. But what that actually symbolizes is spreading hope to community. Aquarians are progress and futuristic humanitarians but sometimes they’re a little too ahead of their time and might be seen spacey and aloof.

12. Pisces

(February 19- March 20) Water- Mutable

Last, but certainly not least, is the eldest of the signs. Pisces is a dreamy, empathetic healer that wishes nothing more than peace and love for humankind. They are typically artistic and sometimes psychic. However, Piscean energy easily drifts their focus, making them unreliable and unrealistic (and sensitive).

Learn These Astrology Basics

Astrology is a system and an amazing tool to figure out yourself and the world. Learn these astrology basics to start then build from there.

For more tips and advice, check out our blog.


About the author


Click here to add a comment

Leave a comment: