Archangel 101: All About the Archangels

By admin / October 5, 2020

The Archangels are chief angels, each tasked with important jobs and messages by God. In our day to day existence, they can be called upon for spiritual healing and nourishment.

With so many archangels, how are you meant to know which angel to call? Below, we give you a rundown of the archangels in our 101 guide.

What is an Archangel?

The archangels were created at the dawn of time to be his messengers and prophets. There are 12 archangels, although the catholic bible only ever named one angel. That was Michael.

In other texts, more Archangels are named. The most famous of these is the angel Gabriel, who makes a number of appearances, notably in the defense of Daniel and Michael. Raphael, known as God’s doctor, is often also considered to be one of the chief angels.

Purpose of Archangels

The job of the archangels was to spread the word of God, delivering his message to the people. They also engage in the defense of his people in spiritual combat.

The three higher-level angels each carry a very special task. Michae’s job is to fight Satan and his emissaries. Gabriel is the announcer, the herald of good news to the people, with Raphael being the protector of God at his throne.

History of the Archangels

In the middle ages, worship of any archangels other than the main three was forbidden. This was to stop people mixing their worship with pagan idolatry and to prevent the formation of cults dedicated to archangel worship that would be outside of the church’s control.

The Next Four Archangels

Under the command of Michael, Gabriel and Raphael sit the next four angels. They are Jophiel, Ariel, Azrael, and Chamuel.

Jophiel is the patron saint of artists. She watches over beauty and creations.

Ariel is the patron saint of animals and the environment. She watches over nature, protecting ecosystems and wildlife. She is also responsible for food, shelter, and water of the people.

Azrael is the helper of God and is the angel of death. he helps souls transition peacefully into the afterlife.

Chamuel is the angel responsible for peace and balance. His job is to lower negativity, healing anxiety, and repairing relationships.

The Next Five Angels

Haniel presides over God’s will. Emotions and imagination are his concern.

Jeremiel is the reviewer. He will look back not on the lives of many who have crossed into the afterlife, or help review and repent with those still on earth.

Metatron is one of the few angels who started as a human and lived with such devotion, that they ascended to angelhood. He is a healer.

Raguel is the healer of relationships. He helps mend arguments of the mind and restore harmony.

Sandalphon is the second of the angels descended from humans. He is concerned with birth and the communication between God and those in prayer.

Angelic Divinity

Now you have divined the purpose and tasks of each archangel, you can begin to call on them for spiritual guidance. We can help you worship with the articles and prayers on our blog.

Visit us today and let us help you start your prayers to God and his messengers.

About the author


Click here to add a comment

Leave a comment: